A Beautiful Day in Berlin

Dear Delilah,

Guess who I met the other day in Berlin! Clawdeen met me in a restaurant and chatted a lot about the things she had been doing. .

Image

I even let her play with the little Volkswagen I carry in my handbag.

On her first day with me, I had to go to work and Clawdeen joined me there. It was the first time that she had been on an autobahn. She was a little disappointed that Berlin has a speed limit of only 100 km/h (62 mph) on the autobahn, but she still enjoyed it.

Image

At work, I was surprised to find a lovely rose from our only male colleague. We all had received one and I let Clawdeen have mine.

Image

She really loved our tulips too!

Image

That day I had to leave early to get to the kindergarten. On our way home from Tegel (in the very north of Berlin) to Zehlendorf (in the south west) we passed one of Berlin’s major lakes called Tegeler See. We made a short stop, but as it was still winter there were hardly any ships there.

Image

After cleaning at the kindergarten, a job I had volunteered for long before I knew Clawdeen would be with us, we drove to a place that has some very interesting history. We passed the lovely gardens of Palace Glienicke – and I must say I was really surprised to see how well Clawdeen could climb a fence to get a better view!

Image

Though I had to help her get down from this one! That is the Glienicke Palace you can see in the background.

Image

From 1961 to 1989 Berlin has been divided into two parts – the western part where I live now and the eastern part where I grew up. Until 1989 it would not have been possible to go to the Glienicke Bridge or even cross it. Look what a lovely pic we took there.

Image

I know it is difficult to tell, but the bridge is painted in two different shades of green. East and West had agreed to paint it green, but neither side had the same colour. It stayed like this until now. Before the wall fell, the bridge was closed, and only the odd secret agent swap took place there. Your mum might remember MacGyver. He was exchanged there once too!

Image

Sitting there we enjoyed the view of the River Havel. You can go by ship to the Tegeler See from here.

Image

As the sun was setting we said farewell to the bridge.

Image

On our way back to the car we passed another park with a wonderful view of the setting sun and the centre of Potsdam. And as you can see, Clawdeen climbed another fence to enjoy the view …

Image

It was a very lovely evening that gave everything a glow – even the outer buildings of the Glienicke Palace.

Image

The next morning – while my husband went shopping with Ms. 3 – we joined Mr. 5 for his tennis lesson. Clawdeen was sitting quite relaxed beside me, but soon was caught up in the fun the children were having!

Image

As we were not allowed to stay at the tennis club all the time, we went to a little town close by. Kleinmachnow used to be separated from Berlin-Zehlendorf by the wall. People often tried to cross the border here, and most were caught. We read a lot about it on an information tablet. Today you can hardly see where the wall once stood because it was destroyed and trees have grown over the empty corridor, but we must remember what happened there. I am very happy that it fell as I was not allowed to cross it!

Image

The next day I started with a little run and came back to find Clawdeen enjoying the sun in our little garden. Ms. 3 has been so kind to offer her one of her chairs.

Image

Later that day we did some gardening. We had bought some daffodils on the market in Kleinmachnow that needed to be planted. I even found a small shovel for Clawdeen. She was very happy to help.

Image

The winter hasn’t been as cold as last year’s, but we still used a lot of our wood for the open fire. Clawdeen was surprised to see our wood rack rather empty.

Image

As I had some household duties, we went back inside. Clawdeen – being a girl – wanted to see my jewellery. She even found a bracelet that fit her small wrist.

Image

We went up to Ms. 3’s room and Clawdeen was quite delighted to see the pink carpet. She showed me how to make snow angels on it. She had had lots of fun doing it in the snow and wanted to show me how it was done.

It was really lovely having Clawdeen as a visitor. She left us to continue her travels.

A warm hug from Germany!

By Angelika Sauer

Leave a Reply

