Enchanted in Evanston

Hey there, Delilah!

Image

I am Marilyn from Evanston, Wyoming. I had a wonderful visit with your friend, Clawdeen. She arrived on a cold, windy winter’s day.

Image

But once inside the house, she warmed up all cozy and comfy. When she saw my piano, she asked if she could play me a few tunes. She is quite the entertainer.

Image

I told Clawdeen that I was having a Valentine’s Day Tea Party the next day. She kindly agreed to stay and be my guest of honor. Of course, she needed a new dress for the party so we went straight to the sewing room and stitched up a little black dress. We also made her an apron, so she could help me make cupcakes.

Image

After all that work, Clawdeen was so tired that she really needed to go to bed. I tucked her in snug as a bug…

Image

She must’ve slept like a log, because she did not want to get up. Since we had a very busy day ahead of us, I poured her some coffee to help wake her up.

Image

First on our to-do list was baking cupcakes. Not only was Clawdeen pretty in her new apron, but I was pleased to discover her expert baking skills.

Image

Once the cupcakes were finished, I took Clawdeen on a short sight-seeing trip around Evanston. As we walked down the street, Clawdeen heard something flapping in the wind. I proudly pointed to three flags flying above her head. She could see the American flag on top, the State of Wyoming flag in the middle and the City of Evanston flag on the bottom.

Image

Clawdeen was delighted by the white buffalo on the Wyoming flag, so I took her to see a big statue of a buffalo. She was thrilled and wanted to sit on him. Silly girl! She had a buffalo by the horns!

Image

But she wished she could see a real buffalo. I knew where some real ones were, so I took her to Bear River State Park. She was awe-struck! I am sure she will tell you all about them, Delilah.

Image

As we were leaving the park, Clawdeen spotted a couple of wind turbines. I drove her over to them and let her read some of the information about the wind energy in Wyoming. She was very happy to learn that some of this wild Wyoming wind is being put to some good use.

Image

We drove through the old historic part of town, where my favorite store is. We also stopped for a few minutes to watch a train pass by. Then we made one last stop at the river for a moment of solitude. Clawdeen crawled over the rocks till she found a safe place to sit. She gazed at the frozen Bear River as she listened to a duck quacking nearby.

Image

Finally, we hurried back to get ready for our party. Clawdeen changed into her dress, brushed her hair and helped me prepare the table. Everything was done. Now we wait…and wait…

Image

But the waiting was worth it!! In walks a cowboy (who happens to be my grandson) bearing a red rose and a kiss, just for the beautiful Clawdeen!

Image

During the whole party, Cowboy Davey could not take his eyes off Clawdeen. He was sure he had found his sweetheart.

Image

After the guests had finished their tea and cupcakes, I put on the movie Why do Ghouls Fall In Love? It starred our special guest and her friends. While watching the movie, Cowboy Davey noticed a tear sneak down Clawdeen’s cheek. He knew she was missing her family and friends, so he gave her a little hug.

As soon as the movie ended, Clawdeen announced that she needed to be on her way. Cowboy Davey thought his heart would break, but he knew Clawdeen’s heart was in New York with her family and friends. He gave her a kiss goodbye and let her go. Then she set off to find you, Delilah!

If you feel the wind kiss your cheek, Delilah, it’s just your new friends in Wyoming sending you a great, big “Howdy!”

By Marilyn Allen

Leave a Reply

